Personal/Reflective

Blessed be the memory of Roy G. Thomas

We buried my father-in-law today. He was a believer of Jesus the Christ so the emotion-field today was a mix of joy and sorrow. What joy for Roy (my father-in-law) to have his faith now become sight. He’s with Jesus in person! Face to face! He no longer sees through a glass dimly but knows as he is fully known. The sorrow of death is also real. It’s a sorrow of separation, even though that is only for a time—temporary—one day I will join with Roy and all believers as we worship the lamb that was slain before the foundation of the world was laid. I wonder what songs we’ll sing? New ones, I guess.

All of Roy’s family are believers; his wife, four children, their spouses, 11 grandchildren. I’m grateful for the spiritual legacy he’s given to my wife, me and our children.

Here’s the best part of his obituary, which was a family project but my wife was the primary writer of this part:

Roy will be missed by family and friends. He was well loved and respected by all who knew him for his deep love of God and for his service to the Lord and the people in his life. As the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return to it without watering the earth and making it bud and flourish, so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater, so is my word that goes out from my mouth: it will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it (Isaiah 55:10-11 NIV). It is recognized to be so in the life of Roy G. Thomas. He always gave full credit to his Lord and Savior for watering the earth and making it bud and flourish as he faithfully sowed seed. While he was always understated about his earthly accomplishments, God used this man to sow His word and it has not returned empty. A wife, four children, their spouses, and eleven grandchildren love and serve the Lord Jesus Christ and recognize with honor that he has achieved the purpose for which he was sent on this earth.

Blessed be the memory of Roy G. Thomas.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

