Abiding in God's Word

Daily Abiding: Jan 1, 2012

Dear Disciple,

Happy New Year 2012! Daily text for today is Genesis 1-3 and Matthew 1.

What is God’s Word saying to me?
God placed trees of life and knowledge of good and evil in the garden. Why? Part of “choice?” Free will? Not being a puppet? Would I fall for the temptation as Adam and Eve did? I really cannot access that answer from a non-sinful state. I’d like to think “yes,” but I’m guessing “no.” Well, I’m probably quite sure “no.” Still, that doesn’t avert God’s redemptive plan for me – or for you! Praise His name!

What am I going to do about it?
Well, I’d like to “sin” less; that is, the willful turn toward sin that still poisons my heart. Quote from Spurgeon (famous old preacher) about the Bible: “Sin will keep you from this book; this book will keep you from sin.” I like that! Daily abiding is essential for spiritual vitality.

May you daily abide in God’s word. Blessings to you in this new year as you do!

In Christ,

Todd

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

