Abiding in God's Word

Daily Abiding – Jan 3, 2012

Dear Disciple,

How are you this day? God’s Word today is from Genesis 7-9 and Matthew 3. Both texts have Covenant themes.

Gen 8:1 begins, “But God remembered Noah…” It is God who initiates our reconciled relationship with him. Gen 9:9 God says, “I now establish my covenant with you…” and in 9:12, “And God said, ‘This is the sign of the covenant I am making between me and you…a covenant for all generations. I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will be a sign of the covenant between me and the earth.” In Matthew 3, Jesus is baptized by John (a Covenant relationship) “to fulfill all righteousness (3:15).

What is God’s Word saying to me?

God is a Covenant God, willing and seeking to establish reconciled relationship with him based on who God is and prompted by our need. Jesus is the fulfillment and the agent of that reconciliation; in his baptism, Jesus is willing to go the last full measure and walk the paths of death in my place – and yours.

What am I going to do about it?
Rest my soul in my Covenant God’s grace. Know that nothing will separate me from his love. Quiet my spirit in God’s sufficiency.

What about you?

In Christ,

Todd

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

