Abiding in God's Word

Daily Abiding – Jan 4, 2012

Dear Disciple,

I have continued to live in yesterday’s learning of resting in the promises of our Covenant God. There were five specific times yesterday when I returned to God’s promises and found a rest for my soul. Each incident was prompted by recognizing a disquiet in my spirit and remembering the plan to reflect on God’s promises, and indeed, I did find rest for my soul.

Today’s texts are Genesis 10-12 and Matthew 4. Each is filled with numerous references to specific people: Genesis with descendants and clans of humanity leading to God’s selection of Abram to bless and to bless through him; and Matthew recorded Jesus’ selection of some of his disciples, who immediately responded to Jesus’ call to follow him.

What is God’s Word saying to me?
I may sometimes feel forgotten by God or just one anonymous person among teeming thousands around me or millions in the world; yet, God has reached out to me and called me to follow him. What a blessing to be called!

What am I going to do about it?
Two things: first, soak in the value that comes from being called to faith by God, finding a further reason to be at peace throughout the day; and second, to pray for those who are in my discipling huddle by name today.

May you know how valuable you are to God – and to me.

God’s best,

Todd

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

