Abiding in God's Word

Daily Abiding – Jan 5, 2012

Dear Disciple,

God’s word today is from Genesis 13-15 and Matthew 5. In case you’re wondering about how these texts are chosen, it is from a read-through-the-Bible-in-one-year schedule. So buckle up…

My heart was drawn toward God’s promise to Abram in Genesis 15:1: Do not be afraid, Abram. I am your shield, your very great reward. Abram heard this promise from God after he had rescued the kings aligned with Sodom and Gomorrah, rescuing his nephew Lot, also. Abram had experience a great victory, yet he was still fretting about having his own heir. God makes a striking Covenant promise to Abram that, indeed, he will have this promised son and uncountable offspring – something especially precious to people of that time (still so today).

What is God’s Word saying to me?

Life is full of victories and fears, defeats and deliverance. My own heart easily focuses on the potential negative, often forgetting God’s faithfulness to me each day.

What am I going to do about it?
You may have gathered by now that my own spirit is easily disquieted. Why is this? I know the Lord. I know God’s word. Yet, I still wrestle with fear and doubt, which can lead to a spirit of striving. Daily abiding in God’s word is essential for a quiet heart and restful spirit. God’s promises – and his faithfulness – are the foundation for peace. Jesus’ words in Matthew 5 (first part of Sermon on the Mount) are lived into as we abide in whose we are (God our Father in Heaven), finding our strength in our relationship as God’s son or daughter for living as Jesus taught. Today, I will continue to dwell on God bringing victory as I see him in his word.

Rest in your relationship with God your Father in heaven, and be blessed.

Pastor Todd

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

