Abiding in God's Word

Daily Abiding – Jan 9, 2012

Dear Disciple,

Genesis 23 records the death and burial of Sarah; chapter 24 is a remarkable account of how God answered a specific prayer from Abraham’s servant sent to find a wife for Isaac. Then from Matthew 7 comes this promise: 7 “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. 8 For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.

What is God’s Word saying to me?
We know and serve a promise-keeping God. Remember back to Abram (Abraham) and how God finally came through on giving the promised-son. Yet, it took time. Abraham was tested, sometimes failing, sometimes believing, yet waiting, waiting, waiting, and then God kept his promise. Someone once remarked to me that “God isn’t late but he’s often last-minute” – meaning that God always comes through but the waiting is difficult.

What am I going to do about it?
I will place my own timelines for what I’m asking under the authority of God. Rather than get bent out-of-shape if things do not go the way (or time) I think they should, I will trust God to answer in his own way and in his own time. It’s a bit scary writing this since I expect God will indeed test me in this. He might do the same to (for) you. I will dwell on Mt 7:7-8 today.

Good words from God,

Pastor Todd

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

