Abiding in God's Word

Daily Abiding – Jan 11, 2012

Dear Disciple,

Accountability update (what happened yesterday?): I listened to that praise song repeatedly and found my soul rejoicing deeper in Christ’s sacrifice and love. I’m considering getting this song in our congregation’s praise mix.

Genesis 27 & 28 are stormy times for Jacob and Esau; Jesus calms a storm in Matthew 8. Now, while this one-year Bible reading plan is not putting the OT and NT texts together with any intention, today’s texts provide this striking contrast of storms in life with Jesus’ authority and power.

What is God’s Word saying to me?
God is the one to look toward during a storm. That is a lot easier to write than to do. My tendency is to try to fix things myself rather than first look for God’s hand to work or to discern what he’s intending to do.

What am I going to do about it?
In response to God’s call to faith today, if and when the waters get choppy, I will first prayerfully ask God what he’s doing, and then engage with the situation as best might please God and be for the good of others.

Okay, Lord, today might be quite the adventurous day. Thank you for your presence; let me live in the shelter of your peace.

In Christ, who calms storms,

Pastor Todd

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

