Abiding in God's Word

Daily Abiding – Jan 12, 2012

Dear Disciple,

Accountability check-in: In a posture of seeking God’s hand at work yesterday, I had two remarkable conversations with some friends that showed God at work in their own hearts and lives as well as my own. These conversations were deeper and more meaningful than typical chit-chat, framed within God’s grace. I saw God at work in my life yesterday, and in the lives of my friends and in us together. I experienced authentic Christian community!

Today’s texts in Genesis 29-30 are about Jacob being led by God to start his family, and God blesses him greatly, though the way in which Jacob and company acted might not pass typical “church sensibilities” today. In Matthew 9, Jesus demonstrates his authority to forgive sin by healing a paralyzed man; Jesus then calls Matthew, who throws a party with all of his “sinner” friends to be with Jesus. As you might expect, that kind of crowd did not sit well with the “spiritual people” of that time. Jesus and his followers were not the right kind of spiritual type for the religious folk.

What is God’s Word saying to me?
Two primary themes: 1) I am one of those “sinner” types whom Jesus chooses to be with as he calls me to himself with gospel words, and 2) I hear a word of law (calling me to repent) where I might allow myself to judge someone else as not being “spiritual” enough. I also want to meditate on Jesus’ teaching on new wine and new wineskins.

What am I going to do about it?

In response to God’s word of law and gospel, I wish to turn from any judgmental attitude and, rather, be in a continual posture to reflect God’s grace to those I am with today.

May you know, in a tangible way, God’s grace to you today.

In Christ,

Pastor Todd

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: God’s Amazing Grace | American Freedom - January 14, 2012

Leave a Reply

