Abiding in God's Word

Daily Abiding – Jan 16, 2012

Dear Disciple,

Genesis 39 records the story of Joseph and Potiphar’s wife; in Genesis 40 Joseph interprets the dreams of Pharoah’s officials but is left forgotten in prison; in Matthew 11, Jesus hears questions from the John the Baptist and ends with praising if Father in heaven for revealing himself through Jesus to the disciples, concluding with this wonderful invitation (from The Message paraphrase):

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”

What is God’s Word saying to me?
I am going to live and rest in that final invitation.

What am I going to do about it?
In Christ and the leading of the Holy Spirit, I will say “no” to engaging in “forced rhythms” and seek “unforced” ones that come from God’s hand. Further, I need to stir up my spirit if something doesn’t go as I think it should; rather, I can rest in God’s presence and power to work according to his will and submit my will to his.

Ah, I’m feeling freer already!

In Christ,

Pastor Todd

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

