Abiding in God's Word

Daily Abiding – Jan 17, 2012

Dear Disciple,

There is so much in today’s texts! Genesis 41 records the interpretation of Pharoah’s dreams by Joseph; Genesis 42 reveals the re-connection of Joseph with his brothers; and the heat is raised in Matthew 12 with Jesus’ interaction with the Pharisees.

A couple of reflections:
Joseph has been matured finally to the point where he recognizes he can do nothing of his own but that God can. He responds to Pharoah’s inquiry about dream interpretation: “I cannot do it,” Joseph replied to Pharaoh, “but God will give Pharaoh the answer he desires” (Genesis 41:16).

Matthew connects Jesus’ ministry with prophecy fulfillment from Isaiah:
Here is my servant whom I have chosen,
the one I love, in whom I delight;
I will put my Spirit on him,
and he will proclaim justice to the nations.
He will not quarrel or cry out;
no one will hear his voice in the streets.
A bruised reed he will not break,
and a smoldering wick he will not snuff out,
till he has brought justice through to victory.
In his name the nations will put their hope
(Matthew 12:18-21).

What is God’s Word saying to me?
When God works, things happen; not necessarily so when man works; and when we go about our work as a servant (as Jesus did), God is glorified and brings justice and mercy.

What am I going to do about it?
Today, my prayer is that God would direct me to be more like Jesus: anointed with the Holy Spirit, proclaiming the justice of God’s kingdom come, and showing mercy to the broken – just as God has done for me in Christ Jesus!

Be blessed by our Lord today,

Pastor Todd

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

