Abiding in God's Word

Daily Abiding – Feb 2, 2012

Dear Disciple,

Today’s texts are Exodus 29-30, Matthew 21:23-46. The OT texts lay out the procedures for ordination and consecration of the priests as well as daily offerings, etc. In the Matthew test, Jesus puts the religious leaders on the defensive when they question his authority.

What is God’s Word saying to me?
Being part of the priest clan for Israel must have carried a lot of apprehension for each person – will I do things appropriately or die? It was very strict and the consequences were very severe. Today, it seems as if God is more distant and indirectly involved in our lives. This isn’t true, but by comparison to OT Israel, it can seem that way. I can become too cavalier about the holiness and power of God, and I can too easily take his grace for granted.

What am I going to do about it?
I want to keep my heart and attitudes open and humble before God today. I will meditate on God’s greatness, holiness and power, and listen for the leading of the Holy Spirit in reminding me: who God is, what he has done, and what a great gift he has given me – Jesus Christ, my savior and friend!

May you know the Lord’s presence throughout your day.

Pastor Todd

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

