Abiding in God's Word

Daily Abiding – Feb 7, 2012

Dear Disciple,

We start in Leviticus today, first three chapters, which lays out detail on different types of offerings. In Matthew 24, Jesus describes how things will be at the beginning of the end.

What is God’s Word saying to me?
Worship for Israel was a bloody enterprise; but more than that, the offerings had to be repeated over and over again. I am so grateful for our once-for-all and once-for-all-time offering that Jesus Christ made on my behalf. Faith in Christ Jesus makes all the difference! But we also live our lives out, one day at a time. And the passage in Matthew 24 gives me pause to remember that Jesus doesn’t promise all will go easy, but everything that happens is still known by God and under His watchful eye.

What am I going to do about it?
I continue to be invited to rest in what might be called the sovereignty of God. By this, I mean to rest in God’s wisdom, power, protection and provision. Through the Word, the Holy Spirit is excavating deeper tendencies within me to look to my own resources to live life – not just external but also internal – liberating me from an anxious spirit that (unwisely) thinks everything depends on me. It doesn’t – and that is comforting. But it’s more than that; I am learning to live life understanding that it depends on God! Not me! And God is very, very dependable!

May you know the presence and peace of God in your life this day – and beyond.

Pastor Todd

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

